Lectures

Lecture Time Title Lecture Title
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 1:30pm Roi Livne, UM Sociology Values at the End of Life: Toward a Sociology of Economization
Friday, September 14, 2018 - 1:30pm Silvia Lindtner, UofM School of Information The Promise of Making: Desiring Alternatives and Hacking Entrepreneurial Living in China
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 1:30pm Martin Ruef, Duke University Jim Crow and the Spatial Mismatch Hypothesis
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 1:30pm Michael Lounsbury, University of Alberta Cultural Entrepreneurship: A New Agenda for the Study of Entrepreneurial Processes and Possibilities
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 1:30pm Leslie Gonzales, Michigan State University Insights about the Production, Evaluation, and Valuation of knowledge within Academia: Readying our Organizations for Intellectual Diversity and Epistemic Justice
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 1:30pm Michael Mauskapf, Columbia Business School Is There a Gender Gap in the Creative Production of Music?
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 1:30pm Chris Bail, Duke University Exposure to Opposing Views can Increase Political Polarization: Evidence from a Large-Scale Experiment on Social Media
Friday, October 26, 2018 - 1:30pm Richard Benton, University of Illinois Eyes on the Horizon? Fragmented Elites and the Short-Term Focus of the American Corporation
Friday, November 2, 2018 - 1:30pm Erin McDonnell, University of Notre Dame
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 1:30pm Greta Hsu, University of California - Davis Challenging the aesthetic alibi: Organizational status, animal rights movements, and the use of fur in the global fashion industry
Friday, November 16, 2018 - 1:30pm Frank Dobbin, Harvard University Does Harassment Prevention Prevent Harassment? Evidence from the Workplace
Friday, November 30, 2018 - 1:30pm Derek Harmon, UofM Ross School of Business Socially constructing value: Entrepreneurial arguments and stock market reactions in new markets
Friday, December 7, 2018 - 1:30pm Matthew Kraatz, University of Illinois The Value of Values for Institutional Theory